Scrap Skirt 

My new skirt.

Colour Block Skirt

I have a lot of linen scraps, some of them quite large – most of my summer clothes are made from linen or linen/cotton. The pale blue in the middle is the remains of a tablecloth I dyed in natural indigo a few years ago. The lavender is leftover from my first 1930s skirt. I’ve incorporated some pieces from an old skirt too.

The fastenings are buttoned pleats – they open up to make enough space to get in and out of the skirt. It’s a type of fastening I’ve been experimenting with recently. This skirt has a similar fastening. I like that I don’t have to have openings at the side.

The buttons have all been rescued from old clothes. I just can’t let a good button go to waste.

I’m joining lots of makers over at Scrap Happy June. Why not pop over and see what other people have been making?

Thanks for dropping by,

Norma x

14 Comments

Filed under Clothes, patchwork, scraps, sewing, textiles

14 responses to “Scrap Skirt 

  1. So that’s what you’ve been up to, Norma! The colors worked out very well. I like the idea of a pleated closing. Maybe next time you make a garment with one you can take a photo of how it looks unbuttoned. That would help me understand how it works.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deb

    I like the idea of the pleat closed with a button! Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great idea, and it looks good too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this, it looks really well designed and original, you wouldn’t know it was made using scraps at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great skirt, and really brilliant use of scraps! You’ve given me an idea… Must go and rummage in my dressmaking fabrics 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dezertsuz

    Your skirt looks completely planned to be made from those fabrics just like that. I’d never have guessed it was scraps.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well! That’s a lovely use of scraps. I have found a top by an indie pattern company, can’t remember the name right now, but it is perfect for scraps because the front bodice is made up of a few pieces. Always good news when you can get rid of those big/small pieces!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

