Another 1934 skirt

 

 

This one is Irish linen – navy pinstripe.

How is it different to the others?

It has a zip in the side. The lavender one has press studs and the wool one has wooden buttons.The lavender skirt doesn’t have a back pleat.

The zip was a lucky charity shop find and dates from the 1960s (still in its original packaging). It works fine, but I rubbed the teeth with a pencil point to ensure smooth running.

I sewed this one on my modern Pfaff and finished the seams with a machine zigzag stitch. I did insert the zip by hand (because I am rubbish at zips) and hemmed the bottom by hand too. I sewed the lavender skirt on my 1930s Singer and finished all seams by hand overcasting. I sewed the wool skirt 100% by hand.

I think I might have made a mess of this skirt if I hadn’t made the other two very slowly beforehand. I have had plenty of practice with the pleats now.

I’ve been very encouraged by the support of EmilyAnn in Brooklyn who’s sewing 1930s along with me. Take a look at her marvellous recreation of a 1930s dress. Wonderful sewing and technical details.

Which is my favourite?

I love the wool skirt so much but I did need a slightly lighter version for warmer weather.

What next?

I’ve been trying to work out what I need in my wardrobe and I think a dress and jacket for a summer wedding need to be high priority. I’m also planning a garden dyed skirt (or maybe wide trousers) and a top but whilst I might make them now, the actual dyeing will probably take all summer.

I’m planning plenty of posts about garden dyeing for this year, so look out for that if you’re interested.

Thanks for dropping by,

Norma x

 

 

 

18 Comments

Filed under 1930s, 1930s sewalong, Clothes, dressmaking, fashion, sewalongs, textiles

18 responses to “Another 1934 skirt

  1. You are the cutest, I love this!!

    Like

  2. As a lover of 1930s fashion, I am inspired by these. Just lovely!

    Like

  3. Deb

    I love that old singer!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like all three skirts. I also like the white top you are wearing with the pinstripe Irish linen. Can’t wait to see the summer dyeing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay, another 1930s skirt. I love it! Pinstripe is always a favourite of mine but I think the lavender one will always be my favourite. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are so clever, Norma! I can’t wait for the dyeing instructions this summer. Working with natural dyes is on my list of new things to learn. Will you be posting a list of garden plants for us in early spring so we can grow some of them too? šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I love your skirts, but even more I love the photo taken in the garden! Cute sewing machine too!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The One Hour(ish) Dress | She Sews You Know

Leave a Reply

