Victorian Style Petticoat for a 1930s Skirt

It proved impossible to find a secondhand silk dress to line this oneyearoneoutfit 1930s skirt. It’s made of Welsh wool tweed and needs something underneath to complete it. If I could’ve sourced some very lightweight undyed Irish linen it would have made a great lining. It was not to be.

Instead, I decided I’d have to make a petticoat to work with it. I was inspired by the lovely cotton lace I was given and some white cotton lawn from my stash made it possible.

The top of the petticoat uses one width of the 115cm wide fabric and the bottom frill is 150cm wide. It was the only way to get a long swishy petticoat out of 1.5m of fabric.

Unlike the Victorian petticoat it resembles, it has elastic at the waist. It has French seams, a rolled hem and I’ve satin stitched the lace to the petticoat. All techniques used in the 1930s but I did them all by machine.

I couldn’t resist some handsewing so there’s white cross stitching in cotton perle on the gathered seam.

I’ve used cotton threads throughout so that I can dye the petticoat in the future if I want to. Interestingly, the very fine cotton thread I used for all the sewing behaved well even when stitching the elastic in. It needed to be upright on the sewing machine spindle because it was straight wound onto the bobbin.

It doesn’t count towards oneyearoneoutfit because it isn’t local fabric or thread and I’ve no idea where the elastic comes from, but it does make the skirt wearable. A wool skirt with no lining teamed with a too short petticoat would never get worn, but this combination made me feel fabulous when I wore it. And that’s what we’re all looking for from our clothes, isn’t it?

Thanks for dropping by

Norma x

 

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under #1year1outfit, 1930s, Clothes, dressmaking, fashion, history, sewing, stashbusting, textiles

15 responses to “Victorian Style Petticoat for a 1930s Skirt

  1. Kay

    Beautiful petticoat and ideal for your skirt. I’ve never used the foot for the rolled hem. Is it fiddly – it looks like it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deb

    Perfect for cooler weather! Looks nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A nice addition. I hadn’t even thought about the lining. Silk doesn’t seem to be a lasting fabric like linen or cotton. I may be wrong but i never see it in secondhand shops or the like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This looks really nice, Norma, and it’s brilliant that it has made your outfit wearable. I have stalled on my OYOO, and fear that I am producing another whole outfit which I shall never wear. I am determined that should I do it again, I am going to make something which I can wear every day should I choose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a good plan. I had tried wearing the skirt with another petticoat but I just put it back in the wardrobe. The rules make it hard & that’s interesting – I would just have bought polyester lining fabric – cheap & easy but not lovely

      Like

  5. This is a very good choice of fabric, Norma. Your skin will breathe and the fabric can absorb any perspiration. This will provide a greater number of wearings between cleaning the skirt. Silk is beautiful but it doesn’t do well with abosorbing perspiration and given how much stress a skirt and slip get around the hip area I think you’ve made the better fabric choice. Also love the way it turned out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh to be young again, because then I would wear that sweet petticoat as a skirt in the summer! Very nicely done, Norma!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

