One Year One Outfit Top

Details:

The OneYearOneOutfit Challenge: To make an outfit using local natural fibres, threads and dyes.

Fabric : Natural Irish Linen

Thread: Taken from the linen and run through beeswax. I also dyed a piece of fabric with the top so that I have matching thread for repairs & alterations. There are no commercially made natural fibre threads which fit the criteria of OneYearOneOutfit.

Dye: Garment dyed five times. Solar dyed three times with dock leaves, mark making with English marigolds and overdyed (in a pot on the stove) with onion skins. I think it looks much better in real life than in the photos.

Pattern: Merchant & Mills Curlew. Bias cut and sewn entirely by hand.

Will it go with the skirt? I’m not sure. I have noticed that dyes taken from the local landscape do sort of go together. I’ve got a theory that if you wear stuff from your own landscape it should always go together – as nature’s colours do. We’ll see. In any case, I think it goes well with my black trousers so it will get worn.

Do I like it? Yes. I think it will get worn a lot. I might need to shorten the sleeves but I’m going to wear it a few times to be sure. I plan to make the pattern again sometime.

Thanks for stopping by,

Norma x

 

 

 

27 Comments

Filed under #1year1outfit, Clothes, dressmaking, dyeing, fashion, solar dyeing, textiles

27 responses to “One Year One Outfit Top

  1. It’s lovely! I need to learn to dye with plantstuff, the colouring of your top is lovely. Unfortunately not a colour I could wear (it’s instantly zombiefying), but I love the way it looks. Also impressed with the handmade-ness of this top. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deb

    it looks nice,a pretty scarf around your neck might be a cold add on

    Liked by 1 person

  3. piecefulwendy

    I like the color, and agree that it goes well with your black pants. You’ll be able to accessorize the top in many ways! I amazed at how you brought that together!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh well done this looks great. You are doing better than me but I still hope to finish by the end of the year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so beautiful! You certainly had patience to dye 5 times with the dock leaves – the colour looks so vibrant, it was definitely worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Norma! My first thought was that the fabric looked like ultra suede. I think that is because of the variations between the background and what appears to be a print or slightly darker area. Are these the marigold markings? How did you treat the fabric to take on the imprint or color of the marigolds.

    The idea of getting a flower to leave an imprint on fabric is very interesting. I wonder what shade/imprint other flowers like a rose would have?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s beautiful! What a great job you did on it and I think the color in it as perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh my! Sewn entirely by hand? I know I couldn’t do that! Love the colour!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh yay! I’m so glad to see the final result and it looks great, fabulous job. I think it’ll go with the skirt, like you say dyes from the natural world seem to just go together.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a clever idea to use the threads from the fabric! I wish I could see your top in real life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yay! You finished it!. The dyeing looks great. I can’t believe that you sewed the whole thing by hand. You certainly have patience. I had to make a curtain out of a sheet and thought I was going to die.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Wearing the Landscape | She Sews You Know

  13. Pingback: Enjoying the Slowness | She Sews You Know

  14. Pingback: More Garden Dyeing | She Sews You Know

Leave a Reply

