Velvet Fest

I’ve just finished five velvet “quilts”. There are the mini quilts above for fundraising for the Quilt Association.

This bag uses up more bits.

 

 

And the quilt is finished.

20161005_153759

I’ve used up more or less all the velvet scraps but there’s more now.

A friend rescued some very long blue velvet curtains which were destined for a skip, so now I’m contemplating a cloaky sort of coat. And the contemplation is all part of the fun…

Thanks for dropping by,

Norma x

 

 

19 Comments

Filed under bags, Clothes, patchwork, quilts, scraps, sewing, textiles, Thrift

19 responses to “Velvet Fest

  1. Fabulous! I’m useless at quilting with cotton so to do it with velvet is awe inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope your coat comes to fruition. I’d love to see it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, that quilt is lovely! Must be a dream to have over you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Norma. Please fill me in on what kind of hand sewing needles you used. I’m experimenting with sharps and betweens for my 1930s dress. I find the smaller the needle the finer the hand stitching on the rayon challis. With velvet, did you have to use a longer and stronger needle and a larger size? Maybe I should post about this since it’s not a topic I see covered often. I also think that sometimes quilters have more knowledge than dressmakers do about hand sewing needles that are best for different fabrics. At the moment I’m loving a #6 Between hand sewing needle to overcast seams.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. P.S. I love the quilts and the shoulder bag will look great with jeans or a denim skirt.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: A glimpse of my knittingĀ  | She Sews You Know

  7. Pingback: Mini Quilts | She Sews You Know

Leave a Reply

