This has been my go to skirt whenever we’ve had really good weather.

I made it at the beginning of the summer from most of a batik jellyroll. I bought the jellyroll thinking that it would do for a workshop I was taking but it was not to be, and I was left wondering what to do with it.

There’s a lot of fabric in a jellyroll: a knitting bag for a friend, one of my fabric pots, this skirt and a few scraps.

My other go to skirt this summer has been this lavender 1934 linen one. I love this skirt.

P4121085.JPG

And talking of the 1930s, Emily Ann is moving along with her 1930s dress and has been investigating laundry and dressmaking techniques from the time. Why not go over and take a look?

Thanks for calling by.

Norma x

18 Comments

September 25, 2016 · 5:25 pm

18 responses to “A Bit of Patchwork 

  1. Lovely idea to make a patchwork skirt. All those joyous strips of fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely fun for summer, Norma!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s nice to have a go-to skirt for bad weather, I agree! You don’t have to think or be concerned about how you’ll look because you know you’ll be so pretty. I’ve never heard of a jelly roll of fabric before. Could you fill me in?

    I am so wanting to get into starting my sewing. The rayon challis is shredding already. I’m considering stabilizing the shoulder seams since the fabric is so shifty. The seam finish is up for consideration too. French seams are a good solution but they create bulk that doesn’t work well with the drape. I think the seam turned under and hand stitched with a running stitch, as depicted in a 1930s pattern instruction sheet, will be better. Now that I’m ready I’m getting invites that take me out and away from home. It’s all so nice but in the back of my mind I can’t wait to get back home and resume this project.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I understand it, a jellyroll is a bundle of co-ordinating strips of fabric each cut from selvedge to selvedge. I have seen quilts made from them but so far as I’m concerned, it’s just a good way to get a wide variety of colours & patterns. I don’t remember how many strips there were but maybe 30 – 40. I don’t think I would use one to make a quilt but then never say never…
      I considered turning over the seam allowance and using running stitch for my skirt & I think it could work well. In the end I went for hand oversewing because of the extra security – I have had no fraying on the linen despite having to put it in the washing machine a couple of times to get mud out. My life is not very clean & I try to take that into account when I’m sewing.xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fabulous thing to do with a jelly roll!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great idea to make a striped fabric from the jelly roll, and then to make a skirt from it. It’s lovely!

    Happy weekend, my friend. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

