Local Clothes?

I have decided to take part in #oneyearoneoutfit 2016. The aim is to make an outfit from local materials, some buying is permitted and so is secondhand. Have a look at This is Moonlight for the “rules”.

There are sheep in the fields around here and I know that a lot of their wool sells for very little.  Wool has been replaced by polyester for so many purposes and we can get other natural fibres from around the world for very little money.  It’s seeing all these sheep that’s made me feel that I would like to try using local fibres to make my clothes.

I don’t really know what’s available yet. The photographs above show a shawl I am knitting from wool raised and spun in the UK and the fabric for my new skirt which is Welsh wool. The knitting yarn is almost certainly not natural dyed and I don’t know yet about the fabric. The #oneyearoneoutfit rules specify non-synthetic dyes readily available in the locality so at the very least the shawl doesn’t qualify.

All sorts of questions come to mind:

What about thread? Footwear? Buttons? Are there non-wool fibres available too? Can I get good colours from the plants in my garden? What area should my “fibreshed” cover? I wasn’t able to source Irish linen for my 1930s dress, so will I find another source? – linen I can dye myself.

If you have ideas and opinions I’d love to hear them. Please let me know what you think.

Here are some of the colours I’ve managed to get from my solar dyeing experiments. Docks, coffee grounds and onion skins are my favourites so far. All of the fabrics are made from plant fibres so I soaked them in milk as a mordant. I wonder if I can extend this from scraps to my potential wardrobe. I’ll be giving it a try.

Thanks for dropping by.

Norma x

8 Comments

Filed under dyeing, Knitting, scraps, sewing, solar dyeing, textiles

8 responses to “Local Clothes?

  1. I think this is going to take A LOT of planning. She is in to her second year so… she noted a few things about seasonality of dyes (plants to use).I think you can make buttons out of things and use a frog or a big opening. What did people do before button factories? I am sure that YouTube must have a video. I will follow along with great interest…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Luck! The solar dyeing experiment worked out well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Where do you live? Maybe I’m being lazy but I can’t work it out! Wondering if I’m local enough to help?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

