1930s Dress – Some Progress

Thanks to Jackie at Nuhn Handmade I had the idea that I should make the 1933 dress using my 1930s Singer machine. I don’t use it often enough and this is a perfect combination – prevents any accidental use of non-authentic techniques. So no cheating!

I’ve decided on lavender(ish) linen to make my dress and I tried quite hard to source Irish linen but that didn’t work out. I’m expecting a parcel of Italian linen some time in the next ten days.

Emily Ann at Retro Glam is progressing with her 1930s outfit research. Why not pop over and take a look?

Meantime, I’m working on a large scrap quilt and I’ve got a piece of Welsh wool to turn into a dress or a tunic (depends whether it will stretch to a dress!).

Thanks for dropping by.

Norma x

 

8 Comments

Filed under 1930s, dresses, dressmaking, history, sewing, Singer sewing machines, textiles, Vogue Patterns

8 responses to “1930s Dress – Some Progress

  1. Beautiful machine Norma. I still love the idea that you are going to create your vintage dress on a vintage machine. I’ve been looking through 30s patterns so I can join you in your sew-along. (the pattern you are using seems to be out of print?). I’m looking forward to reading about your progress. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful machine Norma. I still love the idea that you are going to create your vintage dress on a vintage machine. I’ve been perusing vintage 30s patterns so that I can join your sew-along. (the one that you are doing seems to be out of print?) I look forward to seeing your progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it went out of print very quickly. Don’t know if you could find one on EBay? Emily’s doing a ’30s skirt and top and I think some of the independents do 30s reproductions based on original patterns. Would love you to join in.

      Like

  3. Love the old machine. They knew how to make them to last.can’t wait to see your Italian linen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, yes it’s amazing how well those machines lasted. Just saw a piece in the Guardian about old appliances and how well they lasted – a woman has had to give up he 50 year old cooker because they can’t get her a part!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, this is in excellent condition. Are you able to get replacements for the belt and bobbins?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

