Knitting & Felting

20160119_110528

I’m knitting again!

I gave up knitting after a lot of bad experiences but with the help of some friends I’ve started again. This isn’t my first attempt recently, but it is the one I am most proud of.

The wool is Jaeger Donegal Spun – I found lots of it in a charity shop but the only identifier was a sticky label, no tension, no ball band…I searched the internet without success: there were no patterns that I could find.

After a lot of thought and one or two false starts, I knitted it into two pieces and then I felted them in the washing machine. It took more than one go and I think I should probably have knitted it on bigger needles. More experienced friends said that looser knitting tends to felt better.

I cut it into bag shape, lined it with linen left over from one of my pattern free tops, made a linen handle and fastened it with handmade wooden buttons bought from the maker years ago simply because I loved them.

And now some notes:

  1. It might be easier to knit the bag and then shrink it – I’ll try that another time
  2. Knit on bigger needles
  3. I used the 90 degree Centigrade cotton wash to shrink the knitting
  4. Clean the washing machine filter – wish I’d done this sooner, I thought I needed to get the machine repaired. Well, I did do a stack of sweaters too….

Norma x

11 Comments

Filed under bags, felting, Knitting, textiles, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Knitting & Felting

  1. This bag has a nice appeal about it. The color is very pretty, too. I think it’s great that it was such a good learning experience that yielded something you can use. I’ve had some learning experiences with crochet that were absolutely comical.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d like to hear about them

      Liked by 1 person

      • I downloaded a PDF file of free Barbie doll crochet patterns. Long story short–since I paid nothing for the patterns I got nothing out of them. As I worked through I found many errors. For example, one row had 21 single crochet stitches. Instructions said repeat for rows 3, 4 and 5. When I came to row five the instructions said there were now 25 stitches.

        I thought the mistake was that somewhere, the stitches had to increase. I unraveled the rows and tried to increase. That didn’t work.

        There were other errors in the patterns, too. I wanted to crochet a pair of short-shorts and a top for my doll. The shorts ended up being too tight. The top was awful. It was so tubular it stuck way out from the doll’s bust.

        Then I made a few successful ones but they came out so differently. It was only by crocheting in turnback cuffs that I was able to save the suit jacket of one outfit. If I’d left it as it was the sleeves were too short for the doll’s arms.

        The down side was that when I unraveled the shorts and top the thread was so tired and worn and messed up. It lacked any kind of appeal to make into anything else.

        If you’re interested in what did work out I could put a photo up.

        I’ve found for the most part the patterns I bought from Ruby Flamingo back in the 2000s to be very reliable. They were proofed and written by a pro. Sadly, I think they no longer sell doll patterns. I will revisit theses patterns and see if I can come up with new variations. I’m crocheting one from embroidery thread and so far it’s lovely. Completely different from #10 cotton thread.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A photo would be good! Sounds like the free patterns were more trouble than they were worth. ..
        Have looked at my patterns and would really like to sew 1930s again. Would you fancy a ’30s garment? I will put up a photo of my pattern. I wasn’t happy with the first dress. Think the 1930s techniques were a bit of a shock but recently I have imagined another more elegant version.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Perfect. I can make the trumpet skirt and one of those loose 1930s style pull over blouses that were very simple but pretty. I have to finish the sheath skirt first. While I’m doing that I can make a sketch of the skirt and think about fabrics, notions, etc. I’m looking forward to your ambitious project. You are very brave to take on bound buttonholes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That sounds good. I will start a search for fabric

        Like

  2. loulou

    Wow, that is such a nice bag. I was just telling someone about felting crocheted slippers by making them really big and then shrinking them when you wash them. It’s something I’d heard about but not tried myself. The only thing I’ve ever felted is a vintage woolen blanket and I love how much softer it got. You’ve just expanded all that I knew about felting. I wouldn’t have thought a knitted piece could be transformed into fabric like that. Excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really pretty colors. Your charity shops hold better stuff than the one here. Yes, there is only one here.There were great shops in Florida–especially south Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

