A Sort of Memory Quilt

Memory Quilt

I’ve just finished this sort of memory quilt.

The circles are made of hand dyed fabrics I bought in a charity sale.  The lady who dyed them is no longer with us and I wanted to use them so her work was not wasted.

The quilt wadding is a late 1940s / early 1950s Utility wool blanket belonging to my parents, used by them on their bed and eventually turned into a protective layer for my dining table.  It’s very thin now but still tougher to sew through than regular wadding.

Back of memory quilt

This is the back of the quilt and the curtain I made it from is pictured in this blog’s header.   I brought it from my previous house but it was too small to fit here.  Some of the fabrics are my dressmaking leftovers, reminding me of times past.

solar dyeing

Meanwhile, the solar dyeing is still cooking in the greenhouse. We’ve had some very sunny weather recently and the jars actually feel hot during the day. It’s hard to know when to take the fabrics out – solar dyeing in a climate like this is tricky…

Thanks for dropping by.  Have a great week.

Norma x

 

9 Comments

Filed under dyeing, quilts, textiles

9 responses to “A Sort of Memory Quilt

  1. The solar dyeing sounds fascinating – I’ve never heard of this technique before. I look forward to seeing the results!

    Like

  2. I like that there are memories both back and front. The circles are a nice element–going around and never ending–a nice tribute to the lady. Your dog matches the edging on the quilt. A cutie patootie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Norma, I love the way the circles of hand dyed fabric look like little planets from a different solar system.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How is the solar dyed material coming?

    Like

  5. Beautiful memory quilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

